Nowadays, a ketogenic diet is being followed by an increasing number of people. Despite the fact that low-carb dairy products have health benefits. You can follow a Dairy-Free Keto Diet if you want to avoid dairy products. If you have a dairy allergy or intolerance, or if lactose or dairy proteins are causing you problems.
If you are allergic or intolerant to dairy, or dairy proteins cause you problems. The Dairy-Free Keto diet is the way to go. There are many dairy substitutes and dairy-free recipes available to help you live a Dairy-Free Keto Diet lifestyle.
We recommend that you avoid butter while on this diet and instead use ghee, coconut oil, or olive oil. In the health and wellness industry, keto is the latest craze. The trust in the Dairy-Free Keto Diet is growing as more people go from paleo to keto.
Benefits of A Keto diet
Ketosis is the result of this diet. In ketosis, your liver creates ketones, which are used to generate energy from dietary and/or stored body fat. In the absence of carbs in your diet, your body will burn fat for energy. Instead of continuously pumping out insulin to transfer blood sugar (glucose) into cells for fuel, your body will instead utilise fat.
Our bodies produce glucagon instead of insulin, which stimulates lipolysis. This ketosis state allows your body to produce ketones, which are anti-inflammatory and provide clean brain fuel. You have more energy because the fat burns slower.
Dairy-Free Keto Diet Food List: What to Avoid
Following are the foods you should avoid if you want to be completely dairy-free:
- Butter, butterfat, butter oil
- Cottage cheese
- Heavy Cream
- Custard and pudding
- Lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate, and lactoferrin
- Lactose, lactulose, and tagatose
- Milk-based protein powders
- Yoghurt (in all forms), sour cream, sour cream solids, and sour milk solids
- Whey (in all forms)
Request for a callback!
Other possible sources of dairy proteins or lactose:
- Artificial butter flavour
- Baked goods
- Caramel candies
- Lactic acid starter culture and other bacterial cultures
- Luncheon meat, hot dogs, and sausages that use milk protein casein as a binder.
- Non-dairy products that contain casein
- Brands of tuna fish that contain casein
- Soy, nut, or rice-based dairy alternatives
- Butter-fried grilled steaks
- A few medications
Even if not all of these products contain lactose or milk proteins, it is critical to be aware of what you are purchasing and eating. Food labels must be read carefully.
Here is a much more refined list of dairy-containing products that you will encounter on the keto diet:
- Heavy whipping cream
- Half and half
- Greek yoghurt
- Paneer or Cottage cheese, cream cheese, sour cream, mascarpone.
- Mozzarella, brie, blue, Colby, Monterey jack, etc.
- Cheddar, parmesan, feta, swiss and hard cheese, etc.
Foods One Can Eat on The Dairy-Free Keto Diet?
- Animal fats should be avoided, and plant-based oils should be used instead. Avoid all fats originating from dairy, and stick to plant-based oils. MCT oil, coconut oil, and olive oil are all options.
- Avoid red meat, poultry, and seafood whenever possible. And choose organic, pasture-raised, and 100 percent grass-fed meat, as well as wild-caught fish.
- Low-carb vegetables – Prefer green leafy vegetables and vegetables that grow above ground.
- Low-carb fruits – While not all fruits are keto-friendly, avocados, berries, and citrus fruits are examples of keto-friendly fruits.
- Nuts and seeds – Because some nuts contain a significant quantity of carbs, consume them in moderation. Other nuts can be substituted for macadamias, pecans, and almonds.
- Dairy substitutes – Dairy substitutes such as heavy cream, cheese, sour cream, half-and-half, and yoghurt can be used to replace common keto foods like heavy cream, cheese, sour cream, half-and-half, and yoghurt.
Use Dairy-Free Substitutes
There are many dairy-free options available for purchase, as well as recipes to prepare at home. Although the flavour will differ from that of your favourite dairy products, they are all delicious, healthy alternatives that you will quickly come to appreciate.
Butter → Ghee or Coconut Oil
Heavy whipping cream → Coconut milk
Mascarpone → Coconut cream
Kefir → Coconut milk kefir
Yoghurt → Coconut milk yoghurt
Cream cheese → Dairy-free cheese
Parmesan → Nutritional yeast
Milk → Nut, seed milk or coconut milk
Note: Ghee is clarified butter that is free of casein and lactose. Ghee is not for everyone, and some people may avoid it entirely.
We can conclude that even if you don\’t want to eat dairy products, you can get enough calcium by following a dairy-free keto diet.
Get yourself started today and Stay tuned for more such keto weight loss journeys, health content, and recipes! Also, don\’t forget to follow us on Instagram for the day-to-day dose of the Keto Lifestyle
Request for a callback!